homepage! who we are! what we do! training @ NIPR! membershp! feedbacks!  







The Nigerian Institute of Public Relations

The Nigerian Institute of Public Relations (NIPR) hitherto known as the Public Relations Association of Nigeria (until when it was renamed in 1972) was established in 1963. The body attended the status of a Chartered Institute in June 1990 through Decree No. 16 (now an Act of the Federal Republic of Nigeria). By virtue of this law, NIPR derived the power to register members, regulate the practice/development of the PR Profession and monitor professional conducts through an established Code of Ethics and Professional Conduct regime. As it is the practice with respectable professional organizations everywhere, the law allows standard academic and professional qualifications for admissions into the Institute.


At the helm of the Institute’s affairs is the President, assisted by a Vice President – in a 22-member Governing Council, which is elected every two years. The President and Council operate from a National Secretariat in Lagos, often employing the administrative mechanism and support of Committees and State Chapters respectively. Each States Chapter and the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja, is led by an elected Executive Council that has a Chairman as the Head.

From inception till date (1963 – 2014), the Institute has produced thirteen (13) Presidents.

The Leaders so far

»  Dr. Sam Epelle (Late)
»  Chief Kano Ofonery
»  Tonye Willie Harry
»  Alhaji Ikhaz Yakubu
»  Chief Bob Ogbuagu
»  Chief Alex Akinyele
»  Mazi Mike Okereke
»  Alhaji Sabo Mohammed
»  Chief Jibade Oyekan
»  Sofiri Bobo Brown
»  Professor Ike Nwosu
» Alhaji Mohammed A. Abdullahi, FNIPR

» Dr. Rotimi OladeleĀ  FNIPR

1963 – 1968
1968 – 1972
1972 – 1976
1976 – 1980
1980 – 1984
1984 – 1988
1988 – 1993
1993 – 1998
1998 – 2001
2001 – 2005
2005 – 2009

2009 – 2013

2013 –till date

The Pioneers

The history of NIPR’s formation will not be complete without referencing the foundation members; which includes, the pioneer President – Late Dr. Sam Epelle, Alex Nwokedi, Aduke Alakija, Theo Awobogu, Kunle Ojora, Wilton High and Dan Agbakova. These men met together and pulled the first initiative that resulted in the establishment of the Institute.





Copyright © Nigerian Institute of Public Relations. Designed by